Hunting for books in EDINBURGH

Hello, be(e)loveds! ♥ How was your weekend? A couple of days ago, I visited Edinburgh, and now I can certainly declare that it is a fascinating city: magical and spooky at the same time. Another thing that I loved is the number of bookstores you could find behind every corner. In this post, I’m going to recommend my two favourites; now that the air is crispy, it gets dark early, there’s nothing better than to burrow in a bookstore; if you need some new places to discover, hopefully, this post will be handy for you. And please, feel free to suggest any other amazing bookstores you can think of in the comments. Let’s start!

The first bookshop I’m going to mention is Waterstones. I know, it’s a predictable one, and maybe most of you will have already visited it. But bear with me. In the shadow of Edinburgh’s castle, you will find one of an enormous bookstore: four stories of pure joy for every bookworm. Sheltering there to fight the frost was like a warm familiar hug. I would have stayed inside hours and hours. Whatever your passion is, in Waterstones you will find a ward dedicated to that theme with a vast selection of titles; it is also possible to find precious editions or beautiful gifts (merchandise, postcards, stationery..). So, yes, I highly suggest you step in there; but beware: you’ll fall under its spell, and it is extremely addictive.

And now, let’s talk about the ‘Armchair Books’ of Edinburgh. This tiny cosy bookstore will make your jaw drop; their website describes their place as a “very nearly alphabetised chaos”, and I think it’s quite accurate. ‘Armchair Books’ is packed with hidden treasures. It’s just awesome to roam around, gaping at this concentrate of books. Down the narrow corridors, there are piles of second-hand books; it’s up to you to locate the most special one to you. I adored their gigantic Harry Potter’s section, along with their professor Tolkien’s collection; I would have loved to buy literally every volume.

I’ve also visited ‘Edinburgh Books’, another bookstore that probably you will love if you are a second-hand books fan. To be completely honest, the atmosphere is not that friendly; however, it’s definitely worthwhile to have a look at their collection of Scottish books. Also, if you love postcards, then this is the right place for you; they have tons of them, and I spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to decide which ones to buy.

So, these were my recommendations for today; have you ever been there by chance? If not, which one would you like to visit first? I’ve been waiting for your comments below. Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and Twitter if you want to be friends or have a chat. Until the next adventure,

Lots of love,

Debora ♥

Leave a comment