20 QUESTIONS BOOK TAG

I’ve seen this interesting tag on TheEuphoricZat‘s blog and I thought it’s the perfect way to show you a little my opinions about books in general. I hope you’ll enjoy reading my today’s post; let me know your thoughts in the comments below. And now, let’s begin!

1. HOW MANY BOOKS IN A SERIES IS TOO MANY?

I have to say that lately I’m more fond of duologies or trilogies; longer series are more difficult to follow ideally. Of course, if a story captures me, I could read hundreds of sequels, haha.

2. HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT CLIFFHANGERS?

Once I’ve read that cliffhangers are useful to authors who can’t manage to involve their readers with the actual story or the writing style; cliffhangers would be like an easy solution to “force” readers to buy the sequel, like some kind of blackmail. I partially agree with this assumption, but I’m sure that’s not always the case. Overall, I “hate” cliffhangers, they are terrible! After every suspended ending, it’s almost unbearable to wait for the next book. This is also a pleasant suffering; waiting for the next installment is a unique emotion and I’m not so sure I’d love to not feel it.

3. HARDBACK OR PAPERBACK?

I love hardbacks! They are my favourite editions; anyway, it depends on the occasion and on the cover, which I like the most.

4. FAVOURITE BOOK?

This question is too hard! I have many favourite books, actually. If I had to mention only a couple of them, I’d say “The Lord of the Rings” by J.R.R. Tolkien and “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo.

5. LEAST FAVOURITE BOOK?

Oh, even this question is tough; I’m going to mention the worst book I’ve read this year: “Evermore” by Sara Holland. It has nothing of the magic and interesting elements of “Everless”.

6. LOVE TRIANGLE. YES OR NO?

No, absolutely; it’s a trope that I simply don’t enjoy reading.

7. THE MOST RECENT BOOK YOU JUST COULDN’T FINISH?

I’ve finished all my books recently; maybe it’s because I’m picking up books that I know I’ll love in some ways and that I’m choosing the right titles in the right moment. Anyway, I almost DNFed “Enchantée” by Gita Trelease; I didn’t do it, but it disappointed me a lot!

8. A BOOK YOU’RE CURRENTLY READING?

I’m reading “A Darker Shade of Magic” by V.E. Schwab, finally! Many people recommended it to me and I’ve been putting off the reading for so long. I can’t explain why I haven’t started it before, but I’m already hooked ♥

9. LAST BOOK YOU RECOMMENDED TO SOMEONE?

“The Flatshare” by Beth O’Leary, such a sweet heartwarming love story! And I think it’s unique too.

10. OLDEST BOOK YOU’VE READ?

I love reading classics and I’ve read many of them! Some of my favourites are: “Dracula”, “Jane Eyre”, “Pride and Prjudice”, “Wuthering Heights”.

11. NEWEST BOOK YOU’VE READ?

The most recent release I’ve read is “Aurora Rising” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I loved it and I’ll leave you the link to my complete review here!

12. FAVOURITE AUTHOR?

I have to say J.R.R. Tolkien; his writings have been so important in my life; also I have to mention Leigh Bardugo, who has the best writing style, Jay Kristoff and Laini Taylor.

13. BUYING BOOKS OR BORROWING BOOKS?

Again, this is easy for me: buying books! I can’t explain it, I need to own the books I’m going to read.

14. A BOOK YOU DISLIKE BUT EVERYONE SEEMED TO LIKE.

“A Court Of Frost and Starlight”; it’s not that it’s an awful book, I did enjoy reading some of its scenes. However I found it useless, I’d have loved to get more about my favourite characters. Let’s say, I’m not convinced by this last installment.

15. BOOKMARKS OR DOGEARS?

Bookmarks! I love collecting and using them! I feel bad to fold the pages, while I like annotating books sometimes.

16. A BOOK YOU CAN ALWAYS REREAD?

My choices will be quite predictable, but I have to say: “The Lord of the Rings”, the Harry Potter series, the “Six of Crows” duology! ♥

17. CAN YOU READ WHILE HEARING MUSIC?

Most of the times, yes, it doesn’t bother me; even if I prefer silence and a peaceful environment.

18. ONE POV OR MULTIPLE POVs?

I enjoy them both honestly; maybe with multiple POVs it’s more interesting to explore each relevant character in depth and really understand their feelings and perspective.

19. DO YOU READ A BOOK IN ONE SITTING OR OVER MULTIPLE DAYS?

It depends, of course; if I have time and the story really captures me, then it could happen that I finish the book in one sitting.

20. ONE BOOK YOU READ BECAUSE OF ITS COVER?

The first element that lured me to “The Priory of the Orange Tree” was its spectacular cover! But that book is so much more than a good looking appearance! Please, if you haven’t done it yet, I highly recommend reading it ♥

This is the end of this tag; thank you so much for reading it, I’ll be waiting for your comments below. And I tag Becky and Sailor who own some of my favourite bookish blogs. Until the next adventure,

Lots of love,

Debora ♥

2 thoughts on “20 QUESTIONS BOOK TAG

  1. TheEuphoricZat June 20, 2019 / 6:49 pm

    Cliffhangers are definitely the only emotional blackmail I can take

    Like

  2. Sailor @ A Wicked Reader June 21, 2019 / 3:28 pm

    Thanks so much for tagging me Debora! 💙

    I loved reading all of your answers to everything. And I’m really glad that you’re already enjoying A Darker Shade of Magic!

    Oof. I knew that I didn’t want to pick up Enchantée. Something about it just didn’t seem like it would click with me. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it! DNFing is hard to do, but sometimes it’s for the best lol.

    Like

Leave a comment